Skip Navigation Website Accessibility

John Lake - Seven Angels


Add to Cart
“An original composition dedicated to the late pianist, composer, and bandleader Horace Silver, ‘Pearls of the Tartar’ makes Lake’s love of hard bop plain…Feifke’s introduction sets a mysterious tone, before the full band clears the air with a quirky, grooving affirmation of mambo swing.”
- JazzTimes

"...Expanding on traditional post-bop elements within a modern acoustic context."
- Jazziz Magazine

"Compelling is the first word that comes to mind in describing John Lake's debut record as a leader. Eight Lake originals, adjoined by three reimagined tunes from the past, comprise Seven Angels. A seasoned studio musician and sideman, Lake knew his time had come. He is joined by five stellar musicians who collectively build a liquid sextet.”
- All About Jazz

“Trumpeter John Lake presents a striking album introducing his multi-talents as composer, arranger and soloist. The outstanding program of unique originals and transformed classics showcases a dynamic band with first-rate soloists sharing a conceptual vision, giving a remarkably seasoned sound to this fresh new project." – Grammy-nominated trombonist, bandleader and arranger John Fedchock


released June 26, 2020

John Lake - Trumpet
Michael Thomas - Alto Saxophone
Paul Jones - Tenor Saxophone
Steven Feifke - Piano
Marcos Varela - Bass
Jeff Davis - Drums